Advertisement

Offerings

topic posted Wed, September 13, 2006 - 4:33 AM by  Anna
Share/Save/Bookmark
Hi,
I am a beginner on a path of Hinduism. I feel this is what I have been looking for for all my life,
but now it takes some formalities, so to say,
to understand what I am dealing with.

I would like to have an altar but.... I dont know where to start.
What do I need to build one?

And... I feel very stupid asking this question, but I have to know: what happens with offerings?
I mean, if I offer a flower, it will die one day. In Christianism you have to burn everything what has been
blessed etc.

Thanks for any clues
Anna
posted by:
Anna
Canada
Advertisement
  • Re: Offerings

Wed, September 13, 2006 - 8:44 AM
    yes u dont throw anything away that u offer on the altar. it can be put in the ocean a river or yes burned. it is considered prasada (mercy).

usually altars u can have a picture of ur guru if u have one (or ur particular lineage) then one of ur chosen deity (ishta devata) in my case this is radha krsna and gaura nitai (last incarnation of krsna) but u can have lets say a ganesh picture or painting, or whoever u pray to. or maybe a deity (murti) of that personality. it can be decorated with nice fabrics (maybe sari fabric- try and use only natural materials as they are pavitra or pure) u can have an arati tray (used for worship) an attractive incense holder a bell is a must for ringing while u do offerings. omg im going on and on.... there is soo much more as well.

puja is my specialty if u have any other questions please ask :)

Thu, September 14, 2006 - 7:28 AM
      Hmmm... where would I find an ocean? OK. Kidding. I got it. Fire, water - anything else?

I have to start from the very beginning. LIke VERY beginning, if you know what I mean.
      A place in my room- is there any particular place you tend to place an altar?
      Can there be something else on the same wall? I have a very small room.